Sunday, June 27, 2010

Liberal Party swears in 25 new Congressmen, makes 70 strong

The Liberal Party (LP) swore in twenty-five (25) new members last night at the famous Balay in Cubao, making the party of incoming president Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III the “dominant majority party" with 70 Congressman at the start of the 15th Congress this July.

Leading the group are third termers Florencio Miraflores (Aklan) and Rodolfo Valencia (Oriental Mindoro), second termers Pangalian Balindong (Lanao del Sur), Amado Bagatsing (Manila), Joaquin Nava (Guimaras), Arturo Robes (San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan), Herminia Roman (Bataan), Marcelino Teodoro (Marikina), and Joseph Violago (Nueva Ecija)

Meanwhile, to complete the list are neophytes Sergio Apostol (Leyte), Maria Carmen Apsay (Compostella Valley), Maria Jocelyn Bernos (Abra), Jose Carlos Cari (Leyte), Maximo Dalog (Mountain Province), Rogelio Espina (Biliran), Ben Evardone (Eastern Samar), Salvio Fortuno (Camarines Sur), Mylene Garcia (Davao City), Paolo Javier (Antique), Rene Relampagos (Bohol), Jesus Sacdalan (North Cotabato), Andres Salvacion (Leyte), Mel Sarmiento (Samar), Eric Owen Singson (Ilocos Sur), and Jerry Trenas (Iloilo).

Liberal Party officials led by its Chairman, Senator-elect Franklin Drilon, Vice-Chairman Quezon City Mayor, Congressman-elect Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte, and Secretary-General, Congressman-elect Joseph Emilio Aguinaldo Abaya


Party Spokesperson Chito Gascon said that they are focusing on strengthening their ranks in the incoming 15th Congress to support the bid of Quezon City Congressman-elect Sonny Belmonte for House Speaker. He sees that between today and after the inauguration of President-elect Noynoy Aquino, more Congressmen will join the Liberal Party.

Most of the defectors are neophyte Congressmen of the House of Representatives belonging to the administration party Lakas-Kampi-CMD of outgoing President and incoming Congresswoman of Pampanga Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Both Senator Franklin Drilon and Congressman Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte are vying for the top spots in Congress, Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

It has been reported that Senator Francis "Kiko" Pangilinan and Senator Manny Villar are also eying the Senate Presidency, while Representatives Edcel Lagman and Danilo Suarez are still on for the Speakership.

Congressmen-elect Miro Quimbo and Marci Teodoro of Marikina with Congressman-elect and soon to be the Speaker of the House of Representatives Feliciano "Sonny" Belmonte of Quezon City.

Liberal Party swears in 25 new Congressmen, makes 70 strong is my post in Blogwatch yesterday :)

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails