Saturday, August 22, 2009

Kaya Natin Official Statement of Support for Gov. Ed Panlilio on the Pampanga Recount


The other day, Kaya Natin! had a press conference at Max's Restaurant in the Quezon City Memorial Circle. Harvey invited me to join them. I give my full support and praises to Governor Panlilio and join them in calling for a prudent and transparent move on the recount filed. Councilor Banal of Quezon City read the Kaya Natin! statement below.

We, the leaders of Kaya Natin! Movement for Good Governance and Ethical Leadership, express our support to Pampanga Governor Ed Panlilio as the Commission on Elections is holding the recount of the votes during the 2007 gubernatorial elections.

We stand by Gov. Panlilio during this time and we believe that such a recount is unnecessary especially given that the governor’s term will end in less than a year. We believe that Gov. Panlilio rightfully won in the 2007 Elections without resorting to unlawful means.

We appeal to the COMELEC to recount the votes prudently and honestly as befitting a democratic institution, and not to be swayed by either party to tamper with the ballots in order to tilt the results in their favor.

We urge the public, especially the Kapampangans, to maintain the sanctity of the ballot, guard their votes and be vigilant for any signs of bribery or corruption while the recount is going on. We also appeal to them to continue to support Gov. Panlilio’s crusade against graft and corruption in Pampanga and in the Philippines.


Hon. Jesse Robredo, Mayor, Naga City
Hon. Teddy Baguilat, Jr., Governor, Ifugao
Hon. Grace Padaca, Governor, Isabela
Hon. Sonia Lorenzo, Mayor, San Isidro, Nueva Ecija
Hon. Florante Gerdan, Mayor, Sta. Fe, Nueva Vizcaya
Hon. Fermin Mabulo, Mayor, San Fernando, Camarines Sur
Hon. Roque Verzosa Jr., Mayor, Tagudin, Ilocos Sur
Hon. Valente Yap, Vice-Mayor, Bindoy, Negros Oriental
Hon. Mary Jane Ortega, Fmr. Mayor, San Fernando City, La Union
Hon. Gloria Congco, Fmr. Mayor, Cabiao, Nueva Ecija
Hon. Jorge Banal, Councilor, Quezon City
Hon. Mabel Sunga-Acosta, Councilor, Davao City
Hon. Neric Acosta, Fmr Congressman, Bukidnon
Hon. Teofisto Guingona III, Congressman, Bukidnon


No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails